Governing Body

All schools in England have a Governing Body which is responsible for overseeing many of the strategic decisions of the school. A key role is to act as a ‘critical friend’: to support, to challenge, to ask questions, ultimately to represent the school community.

The Governing Body works in close partnership with the headteacher, staff and the local authority. Whilst the headteacher is, of course, responsible for the day to day running of the school, the governors are involved with such things as staffing, curriculum, school buildings and finance. It ensures the school functions well and maintains the proper range of academic and social objectives.

In September 2013 the governing body elected to reconstitute, in keeping with statutory guidance from the Department for Education. We took this decision as it allowed us to change the numbers and types of governors we have and to appoint more people on the basis of the skills they could bring.

The governing body now consists of:

  • The headteacher
  • One elected staff governor
  • One appointed local authority governor
  • Two elected parent governors
  • Seven co-opted governors

The standard term of office for a governor is four years. The chair and vice-chair are elected annually at the first meeting of the academic year.

The chair of governors is Mr Richard Morgan, who can be contacted via the school office or directly via email at

Much of the work of the governing body is done by committees. At Johnson Fold Community Primary, we have the following committees:

  • Personnel (Chair - Eleanor Blundell)
  • This committee deals with:
  • Personnel Matters


  • Finance and Premises (Chair- Susan Gray)
  • This committee deals with:
  • Financial matters
  • Premises and Building Matters


  • Teaching and Learning (Chair-Clair Beswick)
  • This committee deals with :
  • Curriculum Provision
  • Teaching & Learning
  • Achievement & Standards


  • Pupil Welfare and Community (Chair - Joanne Willan)
  • This committee deals with:
  • Inclusion Matters
  • Pupil Behaviour, Health, Wellbeing and Safety
  • Attendance

The chairs of the committees are elected at the Full Governing Body annually in the Autumn Term.

The Headteacher

Mrs Ruth Dean - Head Start date: 01/01/2008

Governors elected by Staff Body

Mrs Nicola Strickland - Staff Governor Start date: 13/07/2017 End date:13/07/2021

Governors elected by Local Authority

Mrs Eleanor Blundell - LA Governor Start date:01/09/17 End date: 01/09/2021

Governors elected by Parental Body

MS Toni Smith Pickles - Parent Governor Start Date 17/9/20 End Date 17/9/24

Ms Bernie Kelly - Parent Governor Start Date 12/07/18 End Date 12/07/22

Governors elected by Governing Body

Mr Richard Morgan - Chair - Co-opted Governor Start date: 1/2/2015 End date : 31/01/2023

Mrs Joann Aldred - Co-opted Governor Start date:17/07/20 End date 17/07/2024

Mrs Joanne Willan -  Co-opted Governor Start date: 01/02/2015 End date: 31/01/2023

Mr Jeffrey Burton - Co-opted Governor Start date: 09/07/2015 End date: 08/07/2019

Mrs Susan Gray - Co-opted Governor Start Date 12/07/18 End Date 12/07/21 

Mr Garry Allanson - Co-opted Governor Start Date 29/04/2019 End Date 29/04/2023

Mrs Clair Beswick - Co-opted Governor Start Date 28/11/19 End Date 28/11/2023

 Governors who have stepped down.

Mrs Susan Latham - Co-opted Governor Start date: 09/07/2015 End date: 08/07/2019

Mrs Anne Burns - Co-opted Governor Start date: 01/02/2015 End date: 31/01/2019

Mrs Joanne Grime -  Parent Governor Start date 27/03/2014 End date: 26/03/2018

Mr Vincent Whitworth - Vice Chair Co-opted Governor Start date: 01/02/2015 End date: 31/01/2019

Mrs Lisa Bradley - Co-opted Governor Start Date 12/07/18 End Date 5/11/19

Mr Oyetona Abdur- Raheem - Parent Governor Start date 30/11/17 End date: 09/01/2020


Governors with relevant business and pecuniary interests (as recorded in the register of interests)



 Governor Impact Statement 2019-2020